YOKOHAMA 2001: International Triennale of Contemporary Art MEGA WAVE — Towards a New Synthesis

Categories :

Exhibition Planning, Curation & Coordination

The first edition of Yokohama Triennale set out to explore the distinct features of Yokohama, using the former Red Brick Warehouse as well as the Pacifico Yokohama Exhibition Hall and other nearby locations as exhibition venues. In addition, by introducing Asian artists and presenting multidisciplinary works, the event explored a new approach to find an international exhibition that would be unique to Yokohama. One work, shaped like a huge locust and measuring some 35 meters in length, appeared on the exterior of the InterContinental Yokohama Grand Hotel. It was greeted with excitement by local residents for its sheer scale and unconventional form. The event provided the general public with an excellent opportunity to see contemporary art. Fumio Nanjo served as one of the Triennale's four directors, choosing some 30 artists for the exhibition, while Nanjo and Associates was involved with matters such as the event's overall concept and venue selection. 【Artists】 *Curated by Fumi Nanjo Makoto Aida, Bahc Yiso, Bergstrom, Jeannette Christensen + Anders Tomren, Candy Factory, John Bock, Casagrande and Rental, Choi Jeong Hwa, Tacita Dean, Karl Duner and Peder Freie, Jacqueline Fraser, Carlos Garaicoa, Grönlund/Niesunen, Katya Guerrero, rasmus knud + Soren Andreasen, Pierre Huyghe, Laurent Moriceau +20471120/NAKAGAWA SOCHI, Mariele Neudecker, Jun Nguyen-Hatsushiba, Masanori Oda, Yoko Ono, Tatsumi Orimoto, Tsuyoshi Ozawa, Alexandra Ranner, Jason Rhoades, Shimabuku, Taro Shinoda, Laure Tixier, Eulalia Valldosera, Franz West, Uri Tzaig, Johannes Wohnseifer, Xing Dansen 【Basic information】 Period: 2001.9.2 - 11.11 Main venues: Pacifico Yokohama Exhibition Hall, Yokohama Red Brick Warehouse No.1 Organizers: The Japan Foundation; City of Yokohama; Japan Broadcasting Corporation ( NHK ) ; The Asahi Shimbun; Organizing Committee for Yokohama Triennale Artistic directors: Shinji Kohmoto, Akira Tatehata, Nobuo Nakamura, Fumio Nanjo Number of Participated artists: 109 Number of works: 113 Official site